On reading, TV shows, and being a junkie

I realise I spend a lot of time reading books I don’t really like just because I feel like I should finish books I start. Then I put off reading because who wants to read a book you don’t like? But then I can’t start another book unless I finish reading the one I’ve started. So I don’t read. Tada. Quited retarded logic really.

For the past few months, I’ve been mostly addicted to TV shows. I binged through Seasons 3, 4 and 5 of The Good Wife. After that was done, I said I’ll take a break and read a book. I read maybe one chapter, discovered Orange is the New Black, and binged right through the two seasons in about 2 weeks. If I didn’t have Chinese slitty eyes before, now I definitely do.

Other than that, I just really really need to stop scrolling through useless brain shit on my phone. I seem to spend every waking moment staring at one screen or another. Be it the 12 hours I spend sitting in front of a PC at work; the accumulated minutes of me standing at the bus stop, waiting for the lift, sitting on the tram, waiting for takeout, and eating dinner while reading the news, googling things I will forget, and getting jealous of other people’s lives on Facebook; the hours spent binge watching TV on my computer at home…..it’s crazy. I have no self control. (And it also shows that I don’t have a life?)

Sometimes I think I’ll make the best/worst junkie. When I was reading the Game of Thrones books, I bombed through them one after another. Man, if you’re my dealer, you’re gonna love me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “On reading, TV shows, and being a junkie

  1. You have no “Like” button, so I’ll have to comment saying I like this post. ;)

    If you think about it, being a book and TV junkie isn’t all that bad compared to everything else you could be addicted to.

    • Hmmm. I never thought about that. I have no idea if this thing has a LIKE button.

      And yes, I agree there are worst things I could binge on – like other people’s TV shows that I think they should bin instead of binge. I still don’t get Breaking Bad. But I’m sure they think the same of mine too. Heheh.

      Date: Sat, 16 Aug 2014 11:52:46 +0000 To: dorasyl@hotmail.com

  2. actually hte writing for the show “the good wife” is pretty good with the most recent season…so I am not surprised you were addicted…Wait until you saw Downton Abbey :)

    Take a break about 5 min after reading the screen for 20, avoid mobile phone screens if possible. I found myself attached to certain info streams, have to pry myself off and do something else (like woodworking…)

    I would give your posts a bunch of likes if you have them :)

    • Yeah, I know the rules for resting your eyes…..but they’re so hard to follow! I was just told of the 20-20-20 rule the other week. If I remember correctly, it means for every 20 mins of screen time, look at something at least 20 feet away for at least 20 seconds.

      Because my boss is in my line of sight, on the occasions I remember to do the rule, I end up looking like this wierdo underling staring at her boss like I’m plotting something.

      Oh, I just remembered something else – someone’s optometrist said every time after you go to the bathroom, drink a big glass of water. So that means you’ll get a good bathroom – water – bathroom cycle going to help you get up regularly from your desk and drink more water. Haha.

      Date: Mon, 18 Aug 2014 07:24:12 +0000 To: dorasyl@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

