(my own stupid mini) revolution and why I’m a bad employee

I struggle to write here. Because for some egoistic reason, I think I should only write things that are “good”. But I never thought that what I think is “good” is most likely just shite to everybody else. So who cares? From now on, not me.

Hey, have you seen Snowpiercer? It’s this awesome Korean-made film starring Chris Evans – but that’s beside the point. Never been a fan of Chris Evans, or Korean movies for that matter (so there, I’ve just given you the guarantee that my comments aren’t biased), but this was an awesome combination of action, sci-fi, social commentary, class struggle and all that stuff. I’ve always been a sucker for underdogs throwing a revolution and kicking-ass!

Which, in a way, means I make a bad corporate employee. I pointed and laughed when I spotted Naomi Klein’s book No Logo in the company library which is otherwise full of titles like Seven Habits of Highly Effective People; The One Minute Manager; Getting to Yes: Negotiating Agreement Without Giving In; Management 3.0 and all that sort.

I have no idea how Naomi Klein’s anti-globalisation, anti-corporation, anti-branding manifesto made it into the library of one of the biggest multinational corporations in the world – whether no one knew what it was about and someone just slotted a random donated book in, or it was a brilliant subversive joke, I applaud the person.

I’m a natural rebel. Sometimes, I don’t do things that “aren’t compulsory but should generally be done” especially if they “should be done fast because that pleases the boss” – especially not when I have things to do that actually matter. If pushed, I might do it, but slowly, or an hour before deadline. You get the point.

Basically, I’m digging my own corporate grave and everyone thinks I’m crazy (and/or stupid). But hey, I’m ok with that. I don’t intend to sell my soul.

 

 

2 thoughts on “(my own stupid mini) revolution and why I’m a bad employee

  1. well, you are a dying breed in HK and greater China…In HK and China, personal ethics doesn’t exist, only people who makes money, have zero conscience and very few really have professional ethics.

    • Well, there’s also a reason why my type is a dying breed – while everyone else tries to beat each other to the top, I kinda turn up but don’t participate. I don’t win nothing here but a measly paycheck and a self pat on the back for being “better”.

      Date: Fri, 1 Aug 2014 07:37:39 +0000 To: dorasyl@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

