looking good

In the office pantry yesterday, I bumped into someone who looked at me all serious and said, “Lately, you’ve been looking….” She paused, trying to find the right word, obviously trying not to cause offense.

“….beautiful?” I grinned, thinking that I would give her a way out.

Not missing a beat, she smiled, “Well that wouldn’t be just lately would it?”

We paused. Then she continued, “You have been looking…..expressionless.”

I’ve been told innumerable times that when I don’t smile, I look pissed off. So really, she’s diplomatically telling me that I look pissed off these days.

“Well, you know, it’s been crazy busy days around here.”

Usually, water cooler conversations would just drift off with some sort of well-I-guess-I-should-get-back-to-work-then-huh type of ending. But she said something I didn’t expect.

“Well, whatever we look like, we still have to do the work right?”

I stood there watching her walk off, and it felt like someone shifted a block in my mind. Whether we like it or not, there will always be things we’d rather not do but have to. So why not do them with joy? Why not do them with laughter?

Every day,  I thought I didn’t want to be at work. I thought I hate going to the office. But then I thought again about why I work. I can leave tomorrow if I want to. No one can stop me. But I’m there. I want to be there. I want to be there this year so I can save up to do what I hope to do next year. This is a part of the plan that I made for myself. So I do want to be there. And if I’m going to be there, why not chill a little, smile a little, and feel a little lighter?

Perspective. When water cooler fodder isn’t.

Leave a Reply

