a birthday dinner

A conversation between my parents last week regarding my birthday:

Dad: Isn’t it her birthday next week?

Mom: Yes. Shall we all have dinner together?

Dad: Sure. I want to eat Chinese food in Mongkok.

Mom: …….

Sometimes, it’s hard to succinctly describe to people why my dad can be a very difficult person to be with and why sometimes he makes me want to set my head on fire. But there you go, maybe I’ll just tell this story instead.

Family is always a strange bash.

One thought on “a birthday dinner

  1. I feel for you, similar situation. wonder if it is a generational thing…especially when one/both parents came from pre-WW2 era…

    My suggestion is know what causes your fuses to be shorter and calm down (or walk away) before things get out of hand.

Leave a Reply

