Bananatella

After 9 hours sat at my desk on a Monday, with about 2.5 hours to go, my greatest achievement (and one that I’m very proud of) is that I invented a new snack.

(Ok, fine, the results I get from Google tells me I’ve not made some great discovery, but it’s definitely new to me! So in case no one’s ever told you about it as well…)

In the office, anything complicated is a no go. So here’s my greatest invention so far:

Bananatella

  1. Peel banana
  2. Spread or drip Nutella all over it with the tea spoon from the cup of tea you were drinking 4 hours ago
  3. Eat

Optional:

4: Spread or drip more Nutella after each bite

Trust me – at 6pm on a long day, it’s INCREDIBLY delicious.

I’ve always liked peanut-butter and banana sandwiches, but I’ve never thought to replace the peanut-butter with something else and take the bread out of the equation. It just so happened that I was eating Nutella sticks and had some Nutella left over. Voila!

If you think this is inane, this probably was the best thing that’s happened to me all week!

 

2 thoughts on “Bananatella

  1. Sorry to break it to you, but you didn’t invent this, it’s been popular in Sydney for years (I converted many of my friends to it there). Actually even better is pancakes with banana and nutella. Heavenly!

    Also, if you like banana and peanut butter (gotta admit I haven’t tried that one), you might like my other unusual but good combination: Granny smith apple with peanut butter. I find the tangy flavour of the green apples balances the flavour of the peanut butter perfectly!

    • Oooo…really?! I haven’t heard any of the Aussies I know mention it… (Or does it only apply to Sydney?)

      And yes, banana and peanut butter sandwiches are one of my favourites. Esp. good after a swimming session.

      I’m not a big fan of green apples precisely because of the tanginess, but I’ll definitely give it a go!

Leave a Reply

