Hong Kong (Sat) 29 May 2010

I’d set off from London on 28 April 2010. Unintentionally, I’ve arrived home exactly one month later.




My first impressions of home:

Why is it so small?

Why is it so cramped?

Why is there so much STUFF?!

Very hot.

Air very heavy with humidity.




I got soaked with sweat just sitting around coz it’s so humid.

It feels like there’s so much stuff in the house. So much stuff in my room.

In London, I lived in a space shared by two people much larger than this apartment in Hong Kong shared by four people. It’s going to take some getting used to.

There’s all this stuff I’ve lived without for the past 1.5 years. So I obviously don’t need them right?!

On a mission to chuck things out, esp. my clothes.

Throw everything away! I want space!




On the train and bus ride home, I marvelled at the familiarity. The roads, the street signs, the colour of the buses, the housing estates, the old men swearing at each other, the colour and texture of the Hong Kong bank notes…so much is still the same and yet so different from where I’ve been the past year and a half.

It’s funny how you’d just fall right back into it. Like picking up an old habit. Like the snap of your fingers, things just click together again, and you fall back into place, you become one with the crowd, and no one knows you’ve been gone.

3 thoughts on “Hong Kong (Sat) 29 May 2010

  1. Welocme home! Metaphorically of course, since you been back ages now. I am surprised to hear Hong Kong is cramped compared to London, cos I find London very cramped. I guess I have to come see for myself!

  2. wauw! your great trip is finally over (it seems like months, because I have been following here…) . I wonder how you are doing now. How your life is going there? Are you still happy with your decision to come back home?

  3. Po: Compared to HK, London is NOT cramped. My family – the four of us, shares a 700sqft apartment filled with our decades of collections of…stuff/crap. I’ve overheard a Brit say that she didn’t like HK because all the tall buildings made her caustrophobic.

    On the other hand, I also know lots more people who love it here. So yeah, I suppose you have to see for yourself!

    Smiley: I’ll be writing about what’s been happening to me. I’ve haven’t actually been in HK all this time. In certain aspects of life since then, I’m happy. In some other times, I hate it. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

