Road trip / Train trip / What I’m doing next

I’m going to Wales this weekend.

I’m still jobless and homeless. I’m still a bum. I think I’ve been too pre-occupied about going places to think about my predicament.

But I can’t wait to get out of the city. Two weeks in New York was great, but now I need a dose of the good old English countryside.

Actually, it’s not English. It’s Welsh. Sorry.

We’ll be driving some 4 or 5 hours to the Snowdonia national park. I wonder if I’ll make it up Mt. Snowdon.

I wonder if this will be our last road trip together.




I am going back to Hong Kong, you see.

This has been in the works for a few months now. Ever since we realise I can’t work here anymore. But we held out in the hope that something will work out.

Nothing has.

Hence I went mental. Then my body went mental. Then I went to New York because everyone thinks it’ll be good for me. And also because insurance gave me £200 for being in hospital. And also because I’d quite like to see New York. And also because I wanted to see one of my closest friends, then I’ll have a girl to talk to for once.




I have nothing going on for me in Hong Kong. My friends there have scattered abroad (it appears to be the case with most people I know and care about).

There is no climbing gym in Hong Kong. My brother says our house is getting run over by visiting relatives.

I’m in no hurry to go back.




I’m thinking about doing a London to Hong Kong overland trip. By train. Alone.

Well, anyone is welcome to come with me really. I hate travelling alone. It’s just that no one else has the time, or the joblessness, or the no-idea-whatsoever-they-are-going-to-do-with-themselves-ess to come along.

My initial rough plan involves doing London – Amsterdam – Berlin – Prague – Bratislava – Budapest – Moscow – Ulan Bataar  – Beijing – Xian – Yangshuo – Guilin – Hong Kong.

Don’t ask me how I’m going to negotiate train timetables and manage buying the right ticket in each different language. I haven’t gotten that far yet.

But after New York, I don’t really feel like bombing through city after city. Alone. I think very soon, all their architecture and museums and beautifulness will really just merge into one hazy mess of touristy sights and frantic backpack-dragging days.

So now I’m not really sure what I’m doing.




Right now I feel more like spending a longer time in maybe one or two places, doing something more physical, adventurous, and active.

Maybe I’ll just do London – Moscow – Beijing – Hong Kong, because for reasons unknown, doing an extended train journey, esp. the Trans-Siberian railway, has always been one of my biggest dreams.

Maybe I’ll make an extended stop in Yangshuo to do some climbing.

Maybe after two weeks at home, when I’m driven mad enough by my family, I’ll go to Malaysia where my friend is a dive instructor and do some diving.




But really, all I wanted to tell you was how excited I am about this road trip to Wales this weekend. That’s all I intended to say.

If you have any ideas or suggestions on what I should do after Wales, do drop me a line.

Leave a Reply

