Scrappy Island

I’m finally back in London. Flying Virgin was great, but I wasn’t able to sleep at all on the flight and ended up arriving a walking dead.

Meanwhile, I saw too much of New York to stop talking about it, so here’s more…

We went to Coney Island one afternoon…

…and it was pretty shit.

Although it was warm and sunny in Manhattan, Coney Island was foggy, windy, and cold.

We got there about 1pm, but probably because most people don’t appear until later in the afternoon or even not until late spring and summer, the place appeared sad, empty, and dated.

The concession stands weren’t impressive and my corn dog and hot dogs were average.

I’m not sure what I was expecting, but being the home of the famed Cyclone, the wooden roller-coaster built in 1927, I thought the place would be more exciting. Instead, everything looked like they were literally dated from that era and in a bad way.

There were a lot of other smaller games stalls and side shows, but they all just added to the kitsch-ness of everything. The live human target for this Shoot the Freak was quite pathetic too. He just stood there with a helmet, held up a board and stood behind a barrier not moving. I’m sorry, but I just can’t get excited about that.

The beach was fabulously long and wide though. You can’t see the end of it and I can imagine it being very popular and crowded in the summer. On a hot and sunny day, looking out at the Atlantic Ocean, I think the beach and the boardwalk will make a great hangout. But other than that, Coney Island will need a big revamp for me to want to go again!

Leave a Reply

