The Wonderful World of Work

I stood on the Central line platform (the only Tube line that goes all the way across London) behind a wall of people four deep, and watched three trains briefly stop and whizz by without me on it, packed and spilling people everytime the doors open.

That was my initiation into morning rush hour in the great city of London. Weeeeee!

… … …

When I was finally shown my desk and left on my own, I sat down and looked around at my typical office possessions of computer, pen-holder, phone, file-holders, drawers, white board, and calendar. I stretched my legs out underneath me, propped my elbows onto the expansive surface, and my first thought was, “Damn! It’s GREAT to be working again!

Believe me, you don’t hear that very often, and that’s probably the only time you’ll ever hear it from me.

If and when things become difficult, I hope I’ll always remember how utterly defeating and depressing it was to be without work. I hope you’ll never have to know.

… … …

On my way to my second day at work, I sat down on the train and saw this right in front of me:

Stuff Work

I wanted to raise my fist and say, “Damn you! You don’t know what it’s like to be out of work!”

3 thoughts on “The Wonderful World of Work

  1. Pingback: How not to get a job, and why you should keep trying | Carebear in Crazyland

Leave a Reply

