What is the best thing in the world?

Nasty asked me on my birthday, “What is the best thing in the world?”
Apparently, saying “travelling” is too cliché.

He said skiing is the best thing in the world.

Two ot three years ago, I would’ve said hockey. But not anymore. I don’t know.

It’s a bit sad isn’t it? If you don’t know what the best thing in the world is?

I’ve given it some more thought, and although I can’t pin point one single thing or activity, I’ve come up with a series of moments – moments that stand out. Moments where you lose yourself and everything else that goes on in life. Moments that, when passed, you’d say you wish it’d last forever. Moments where you were so in the present that nothing else mattered.

To Nasty, it’s skiing.

To Doreen, I have an inkling that it’s diving.




For me, some of those moments are:

Kayaking/canoeing on the River Kwai in Kanchanaburi, Thailand

Paddling a kayak on my own. Near-vertical cliffs rising from the calm water on both sides, lush and green with trees. The river is still, you’re in total control, and the only noise are those of the birds and other animals coming from the sides. Nothing is as peaceful and as the river meanders in and out of the cliffs and sandy shores, you feel this could go on forever.
Sitting outside a café in Dijon, France, in the middle of the night, eating the best raspberry ice-cream I’ve ever had, looking out into an empty public square with a beautifully lit town hall in the background, chatting to friends under a dark, clear, starry sky.


Eating raspberry ice-cream in a town square in Dijon, France

It was late summer’s night. The square was deserted, the sky was dark but bright with innumerable stars. I sat there with my friends, eating the best ice-cream I’ve ever eaten, chatting about things people in their early twenties think are important.


Riding around Ho Chi Minh City on the back of a motorcycle

For two long hours, I was driven around town by a Vietnamese girl. We drove by monuments, stopped at the fringe of parks, visited little cafes, and took in the sights of night-time HCM from the back of a motorbike. You don’t see as much of a city as intimately in as short a time than this.


Sitting under a tree near the waterfront in Bristol,

with Nasty’s arms around me. I can feel his face pressed against mine as I leaned into his warmth. Bright blue skies, fluffy white clouds, the warm sun shining down on us. For once in many months, I was without a coat, feeling warm sitting outdoors, not giving a shit about what might or might not come next.




Those are some of the best “things” I can think of. All of them were from, unsurprisingly, my travels.

If I have to be slightly less cliché, maybe I’ll say the best thing in the world is train journeys. If only they aren’t so bloody expensive here!

It is still my dream to travel from South East Asia, up through Hong Kong and Beijing, onto the Siberian railway, and into St. Petersburg and Moscow.

If I fancy it, I just might make it all the way to London.

You know what, maybe I could do a London to Hong Kong overland trip.




What is your best thing in the world?

6 thoughts on “What is the best thing in the world?

  1. Hmm, I’d say the best thing in the world is feeling content with life. I believe once you’re content you can begin to enjoy your life more instead of constantly worrying about paying bills and stupid crap. Also being with the person you love is a great feeling obviously :P

    I really enjoy exploring new places too, so traveling would be on the list! Chris and I were just talking the other day about doing the trans-Siberian railroad!

  2. I love your blog. Just saying.

    I don’t know what the best thing in the world is, maybe sleeping in late when you are really tired.

    I am going to Thailand and Vietnam next month. I don’t know if that will be the best thing in the world, but I am super excited!

  3. Yeah Sarah, I was gonna say “happiness”, but according to Nasty, all those do not qualify as legitimate answers to his question. I have therefore concluded that Nasty, or guys in general, do not appreciate the greater things in life. ;)

    Po: Thank you! I’m so jealous you’re going to Thailand and Vietnam! You’re rightly excited! Hope you have a fabulous time there!

  4. I agree with Sarah..happiness..peace of mind..call it what you will.
    I also have to say that I think the use of the word cliche has become cliche.
    This is no trial run, this is the real deal and we find happiness wherever we can..I just made a perfect cup of coffee and I’m a happy “boy”
    Take care.

  5. Pingback: Best Things About Skiing | Alpine Skiing Equipment

Leave a Reply

