Q & A

Because I’m lazy, that’s why.

So I asked and Hope generously gave me 5 interview questions to participate in a meme.

If you would like to take part, here are the rules.

1. Leave me a comment saying you want to be interviewed.
2. I’ll email you five questions, of my determination not yours!
3. You update your blog with the answers to the questions.
4. You offer to interview someone else in the same post.
5. When others comment asking to be interviewed, you will ask them five questions.





So here they are. And if I remember correctly, I’ve never done a meme before.

1. If you had to pick one city from all the cities you have lived in to retire, which city would it be and why?


Out of Hong Kong, Toronto, Jakarta, and Bangkok…I would pick Bangkok.


Not that the other places aren’t nice at all, but financially, at retirement, you have a limited pool of money to live on until you die. Bangkok is relatively cheap.


Bangkok has amazing food at very very affordable prizes. I can basically pig out all day, every single day and not get bored due to the wide variety of food there.


Bangkok is hot. I can lounge about in a t-shirt, shorts and flip flops all day.


It is a short train/plane ride to the white sandy beaches and clear blue waters of South East Asia.


One thing though: One of my biggest gripes when I was there was the lack of public facilities such as libraries. I know, I’m such a geek.




2. Who is your favourite author or which is your favourite book?


I devoured John Grisham during my high school years. So much so I wanted to go into law.


I also got into Michael Chricton, until the books of both these dudes started getting a bit old and formulated.


This is a hard question and I forget half the books I’ve read, even if I loved them.


So here are some which I thought were great:


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time
Tuesdays with Morrie
The Runaway Jury
Sophie’s World
Things Fall Apart
The Undomestic Goddess
For One More Day
Eat Love Pray
The World Without Us
Why Men Don’t Listen and Women Can’t Read Maps
Eats Shoots & Leaves
Fight Club


If I have to choose one now, I would say Eat Love Pray because it’s what I identify with most given my current situation in life.




3. If you had to eat only one food for the rest of your life, which one would you choose?


Oh gosh, this is unbelievable! This is a question the manager at my old office used to ask everyone when there is a lull in conversation over the dinner table. I used to roll my eyes everytime she goes at it again.


Nothing wrong with the question, except like how my flatmate’s associated the German language with angry people due to some childhood anomaly, I’ve come to associate this question with the person who used to ask it all the time.


Nevertheless, if I have to eat only one food for the rest of my life, I might choose bread.


Coz hey, there’s a wide variety of bread out there. *wink*




4. 2008. Biggest regret? Biggest achievement?


Good question. I’ve not actually thought very much about this.
My biggest achievement no doubt is actually making my way here to London. It’s something I’ve never imagined doing, or something I’ve never thought I’ll have the guts to do.


What do I regret? To be honest, I don’t really know. I had my ups and downs during the year. I got angry and sad. I laughed till I couldn’t breathe. I was bored and annoyed. I was nervous and stressed. And then I laughed some more.


But is there anything that I regretted doing? Or regretted not doing?


I can’t really think of anything. But perhaps one thing to ask is, do I regret leaving Hong Kong? Do I regret leaving my family, my friends, a stable good paying job and my beloved hockey team?


No. I moaned about my friends, or most probably, lack thereof. I moaned about how mind-numbingly boring my job was. I moaned about the non-existing communication skills amongst my family members. I moaned about politics in hockey.


So no. No regrets.




5. And finally why did you choose the pseudonym Nasty for your boyfriend? :)


Because he is.


Hope thought this might be too personal and offered to give me another question if so. But no, it’s not.


I am very tempted to make a whole list of why he’s Nasty, but I do not in case you blame me for ruining your keyboard because you’ve just puked your lunch up onto it.


But just to satisfy your curiosity, here’s one anyways:


Travelling  through China on a train, Nasty fell asleep next to me as I read a book. After a while, I felt my shoulder getting wet and I glanced down at him.


His head was dangling over my shoulder and a 4 inches long stretch of drool connected my shoulder to the corner of his open mouth.


I stared at the drool, looked at his gaping mouth, and debated whether I should wake him up. I know, I’m too nice.


If he was me, I’m sure he would’ve booted me off the seat already. But he was nicely asleep and I didn’t really want to wake him.


So I watched as the train shook from side to side, and so did his drool.


Eventually, the splotch of wetness on my shirt got bigger and wetter and I could feel my shirt sticking to my skin.


That was it. A saliva-soaked shirt clinging onto my skin was more than I could handle. So I forced him so sleep in the train WC for the rest of the ride.


Well no, not really. I’m too nice, remember? And this is just one out of many Nasty things I have to endure – all the time.







So go ahead, if you’re just as lazy, you can get some questions exclusively from me! Yes, world exclusive! Ha!

6 thoughts on “Q & A

  1. Ok, since I like memes in general, and also this specific one, you may interview me. You’re answers here were very nice to read.
    And don’t worry, if you like, I’ll even answer in English on my blog.

  2. Great questions, I really enjoyed reading this post! Always have meant to ask you about Nasty’s nastiness, now I know it :) I was surprised you didn’t pick Hong Kong as the best city though, I kinda imagine it must be a million times more pleasant than Bangkok, because, let’s face it, Bangkok is cheap, exotic, colourful, interesting but to me utterly unpleasant. I also enjoyed The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time but never could get to the end of Sophie’s World. Shoot me your questions if you are interested.

  3. Bangkok is utterly unpleasant?! Hahaha…that’s very rare to hear to be honest. But I think you’re right. People (most anyways) like visiting, shopping, eating, the weather, etc etc. But when it comes down to the most basic things, like a stable responsible government, public facilities, a good transport system, free media, no corruption etc etc, it’s just absolute shit.

    But you know what, now that I think about it, Nasty didn’t like Thailand all the much either, a select few of my friends from school doesn’t like it all that much either.

    But I like it. It was my home for 3 years. My mom goes there almost every year. In fact, she’s there right now. My family vacations there more times than I care to count. (We have relatives there.) I can communicate enough in the language. I can find my way around easily. I know where the good food is. Actually, if I have to choose a “hometown” other than HK, I’ll choose Bangkok.

    And no, I’m not trying to talk you into liking the place…it’s just that I…erm…ramble…heh.

  4. I adore Thailand, it was only Bangkok that gave me the creeps :) I thought the climate and the touristy places dead awful. That’s all. I’m so sure the place is a very different story once you get to know it better.

  5. Pingback: CafeSwa » smiley » Interview

Leave a Reply

