Stars

I’ve just quit my job.

Like every other job I’ve quit, instead of estatic happiness, I feel like a great weight has been lifted off my shoulders.

And all I want to do is sit down at a quiet place, a coffee shop, sink into a sofa, and contemplate…nothing.

This also marks the first time I’ve quit a job without another job lined up.

But instead of feeling afraid, I feel upbeat about what might come next.

I feel a sort of wierd, quiet optimism.

Because I’m leaving without anything concrete lined up, except for the fact that I’m gonna buy a one-way plane ticket to London, I feel that what ever happens next is going to be an adventure.

I feel like nothing can get bad. Because surely nothing can be worst than being unemployed and poor.

When this passes, I’m sure I’m gonna freak out.

But right now, I feel like I’m in the eye of a storm.

I can feel all that’s happened whirling around me, blurred, going round in a messy circle.

It’s all there. I can feel them. But I can’t pinpoint any of them.

It’s like a whirlwind of events, people, places and emotions. But they’re not a part of me now.

I stand in the middle, unaffected by it all.

I look up at the sky.

It’s night. It’s dark. But it’s clear. And all the stars shine brightly.

The stars.

That’s where I’m going next.

Photo by coda.

3 thoughts on “Stars

  1. Pingback: It Will be Amazing « Carebear in Crazyland!

  2. Pingback: If you’re Chinese and you marry a black man, this is what your relatives say behind your back « Carebear in Crazyland!

Leave a Reply

