Leap of faith

I visit PostSecret every week. It’s a site where people send in postcards anonymously, with whatever secret they have creatively expressed on one side of a homemade postcard.

There are a lot of sites out there where people spill their secrets. But I find this site especially touching because of the creative images that come with each secret. Some of them hilarious, some of them sad, some of them scary. Many of them very personal. Like they say, a picture speaks a thousand words.

This one above I found especially haunting.

I feel like we’re standing on the edge of something big. Take a leap of faith with me.

Hauntingly personal, as if it’s speaking directly to me.

Some postcards on the site have comments below them, and the one below this describes exactly what I feel about it:

“…in my mind’s eye, it always looks like this secret–a little tattered, a little incoherent, but wide and beautiful.”

Sometimes, many times, I wish I have the courage to just close my eyes and take that leap. To have faith. To have faith in myself. To have faith in the future.

To have faith in other people.

To have faith in our circumstances.

To have faith that everything will work out alright.

And to have faith that even if everything doesn’t work out right, it is still for the best, and everything will somehow still come out alright. We’ll emerge tattered, but we’ll come out stronger.

To have faith that whatever happens, it’ll still be something worth closing your eyes and leaping for.

I really do sometimes feel like I’m standing on the edge. Looking down. Holding my breath.

But many times, I also know that I’m clinging on to whatever it is that is holding me back.

Fear.

Responsibilities.

Expectations.

The future.

Oh my effing god. How many times have I stood on this edge, afraid to let go? Closing my eyes, but unable to take the leap. Paralyzed. I can’t breathe.

The author of that postcard speaks of “we”. Am I alone in this? Or will you hold my hand and take that leap with me?

Being the person that I am, I always need that extra push. To push myself off the edge. To unpry my bone-dry fingers and whitening knuckles from all that I’m clinging on to.

And, to say to me, I feel like we’re standing on the edge of something big. Take a leap of faith with me.

Leave a Reply

