I am very Canadian, apparently.

Was working the cash at the cupcakery yesterday when this gweilo couple came up to me with their mugs of coffee and wanted to pour them into paper cups to take away.

And the lady asked me, “Where are you from?

Surprised, I said, “You mean this shop? …..Or me?

No, you! Where did you grow up?

Oh, uh, I grew up in various places….Canada….” I am always hesitant to answer such questions, coz they always warrant a long response.

The woman gave the man a slap on his arm: “SEE! I TOLD you she’s Canadian!!!!

….Indonesia, and Thailand.” Which they ignored.

The man exclaimed in return, “I KNOW! I mean, she is totally Canadian!!!

Well, I only lived there for 3 years when I was a little kid….

Woman and man excitedly babbled: “Babble babble babble….Where in Canada are you from?

Well….I lived in Toronto….

Woman: “Oh really?! Well, I’m from NewFoundLand!

I immediate tried to dig through all the Canadian geography and state names and capitals I had to memorize in grade school…..Where the heck is NewFoundLand?!

They continued to babble at each other: “Babble babble babble… …!!!!

Excited that anyone is actually interested in me, I asked, “Is it because of my accent?” A lot of people think I’m Canadian/North American coz of my accent. I originally picked up English in Canada you see.

Man: “Well, not just the accent! It’s the whole thing! The way you look, the way you speak, move….EVERYTHING!!!!” *throws his arms around in big circles*

Woman chimed in: “Yeah! You totally have the Canadian look!! Everything!!!

By then, their coffee has finished the transfer to paper cup and I had a line of customers staring at me un-amusingly. They turned to leave. I said, “Well, thanks very much and have a nice day!

………………………………………………………………………………………………………

I guess people hear what they want to hear.

Not that I mind being Canadian. I’ve been called American, Thai, and Vietnamese too.

But, can anyone please tell me………..what is the “Canadian look”?!

2 thoughts on “I am very Canadian, apparently.

  1. Actually, that brings to mind….maybe there are lotsa people like *me* in Newfoundland! Maybe I’ll fit in perfectly and will have, at long last, found the place where I belong!! Weeeeee….eheheh…..

Leave a Reply

