Show me a man in Hong Kong who would hold open doors (no, security guards and doormen don’t count)

At the door to get out of HSBC, I moved aside to let someone come in, then I put one foot out the now closing door.

One man in a suit and briefcase yanked the door open and rushed in.

I stepped back. Let him in, then pushed the door half-open and started putting one foot out again.

Second man in another suit and briefcase pulled on the door and rushed in.

I stepped back. Let him in, then pushed on the door again.

Third suit and tie man yanked on the door and rushed in.

 

At this, my mom would say, @#$*%#$&! Treat people the way they treat you! Use your elbows and barge your way through!

The rest of Hong Kong would say, It’s your fault. Who told you to be so hesitant and “nice”? That’s the way it is. No one is gonna care if you end up standing there for 10 years.

My friends would say, Gimme a break. That’s the way it is. Can’t believe you’re even fretting about this. And then they’ll ignore me.

 

I realize that when people do open doors for me, they’re always those that I know. Friends, co-workers, family. Strangers almost never open doors for strangers. One of the few times that happened was when gweilos held doors open for me.

People here sometimes gush about how nice and friendly gweilos are. I find that extremely annoying. Why can’t WE do the same?

 

To the dismay of my world-weary mom, I am still a firm believer in do unto others as you would have them do unto you.

(Though it’s hard sometimes when you’re trying to go through a bloody door!)

 

Leave a Reply

